Neonatal healthcare refers to the provision of medical care for newborns up to 28 days after birth. There are three levels in neonatal care. Level I consists of caring for healthy newborns. Level II provides intermediate or special care for premature or ill newborns. Infants at this level may need special therapy, or simply need more time before being discharged. Level III, or neonatal intensive care, treats newborns that cannot be treated in the other levels and are in need of advanced technology to survive. Common diagnoses and pathologies treated in Level III include anemia, apnea, respiratory distress syndrome, hydrocephalus and more.

One of the most common issues with newborns is premature birth. The normal gestation period for humans is about 40 weeks. Any birth that happens before the due date, or before 37 weeks, is defined as a premature birth. The most common reasons for premature birth are a ruptured amniotic sac, a weak cervix, abnormalities in the uterus, diabetes, high blood pressure and poor nutrition.

The institutions and physicians at the Medical Center are at the forefront of care for newborns with critical or special needs. Not only can patients benefit from exceptional service and a safe environment during delivery, they can also take advantage of the family-centered approach the institutions at the Medical Center provide.

Specializing Institutions

Many of the institutions in the Medical Center specialize in Neonatal Services. The hospitals listed below are not inclusive of all the institutions that provide this service.

Methodist Healthcare Hospitals

(800) 333-7333


St. Luke’s Baptist Hospital

7930 Floyd Curl Dr.
San Antonio, TX 78229
(210) 297-5000


University Health Main Campus

4502 Medical Drive
San Antonio, TX 78229
(210) 358-4000